top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSolva Stories

Poem Gaia by Fran Barker

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

Gaian theory sees the Earth as a living organism. Followers typically approach the philosophy with the perspective that you should honour the Earth, reduce or soften the human impact on the earth, and be respectful of all life on earth. I was prompted to write this poem recently by a beautiful "blue" day followed by a miserable misty grey one. I felt that the Earth was crying...



Yesterday you were beautiful

Blue and sparking

With yellow flowers on your green skirts.

Today you are grey, mysterious

Damp and cold

Hiding your face. Why? Why? Why?


I can still be lovely

But may with-hold my favours.


When I see my beauty marred

I cry and cry and cry

My tears cohere

And wash the ordure from my face,

And maybe more.


When I sense the pungent smoke

I breathe and breathe and breathe

And my breath coheres

And sweeps away the harmful fumes

And maybe more.


When I feel my skin is pierced

I shake and shake and shake

And my shaking builds

And wrecks the ugly scars that mar my flesh,

And maybe more.


I cry, I breathe, I shake, I live.

When I am angry, I am wild

And flood and break and dash

Away what irks.

Love me, treat me kind

And you will reap the bounty

Of my Nature.


Fran Barker


49 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page